Forum dedicated to collectors of animal toy replicas

Toy Animal WikiToy Animal Wiki  HomeHome  Latest Topics  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Marx 1971 Endangered Animal Series

Go down 
+4
SUSANNE
widukind
Roger
Tarunyada
8 posters
AuthorMessage
Tarunyada

Tarunyada

Country/State : The Netherlands

Marx 1971 Endangered Animal Series Empty
PostSubject: Marx 1971 Endangered Animal Series   Marx 1971 Endangered Animal Series EmptyTue Feb 23, 2016 8:50 pm

Hi folks! [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

As you might have noticed, I like to do some research on animal figurines, especially animal figurines that are tiny and cute. But I'm far from an expert when it comes to vintage animal figurines! I only own one composition model and whenever I find any other vintage figurines, I sure have to ask around before I know anything about them Razz

A few days ago I was searching on the art site deviantART for animal figurines, wolves in particular. I found a wonderful wolf collection from a very friendly lady from the USA whom seems to have joined STS a couple of months ago, but unfortunately can't find the time to share something (EDIT: fortunately, our Fallon is now a full-time STS-member!). But about her wolf collection: I noticed a very beautiful red-brownish wolf figurine in a smaller scale. When I asked her about the figurine, she told me the following:

Quote :
The red/brown wolf in the front is a rare vintage 1971 MARX red wolf from a series they did depicting animals that were considered endangered at the time.

Okay, so first of all.. RED WOLF ALERT!!! As far as TAi goes, whe only know the existence of the wonderful larger scaled red wolf mom with two pups. Now it looks like good old Marx made another red wolf! But secondly, a series about endangered/vanishing animal species.. Those are always interesting to me and quite a lot of other people from STS Smile