Forum dedicated to collectors of animal toy replicas

Toy Animal WikiToy Animal Wiki  HomeHome  Latest Topics  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Easy animal sculpting suggestions.

Go down 
+4
STORMnl
Fisva
Ana
cattlecollector
8 posters
AuthorMessage
cattlecollector

Country/State : U.S.A

Easy animal sculpting suggestions. Empty
PostSubject: Easy animal sculpting suggestions.   Easy animal sculpting suggestions. EmptySun Feb 03, 2013 8:15 pm

Hi everyone. I am kind of new to this sculpting thing, but I really enjoy doing it. I have made a few models, but they all turned out bad. Mad I think that the problem is that that I am trying animals that are too difficult. (Water buffalo and such). Does anybody have a suggestion for an easy animal that would be beginner friendly animal? I would love to hear everybody's input. Thanks!
Back to top Go down
Ana

Ana

Country/State : Utrecht/NL

PostSubject: Re: Easy animal sculpting suggestions.   Easy animal sculpting suggestions. EmptySun Feb 03, 2013 8:17 pm

I think You can try tapirs or peccary? What do You think? :)

Back to top Go down
http://www.horseandbird.com
Fisva

Fisva

Country/State : Poland

PostSubject: Re: Easy animal sculpting suggestions.   Easy animal sculpting suggestions. EmptySun Feb 03, 2013 10:50 pm

Well, I've started with bigger sculptures: I remember my very, very first one which was a gryphon, it was really bad. Later I've got some practice on My Little Pony customs, I've found out which materials are good and which are bad, I've learned how to paint, which paints should I use etc., what I should do and what I shouldn't. If you want to keep good proportions, print some pictures with the size that you want to have and use wires as a skeleton (I hadn't known that for a very long time Laughing ).
I must agree with Anna that tapirs are rather easy to sculpt, maybe also some rodents?
Back to top Go down
STORMnl

STORMnl

Country/State : Nijmegen-Netherlands