Forum dedicated to collectors of animal toy replicas

Toy Animal WikiToy Animal Wiki  HomeHome  Latest Topics  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Bjarki's Projects

Go down 
+9
Geospiza fortis
MiniZoo
Florian
Kikimalou
widukind
Roger
SUSANNE
Mgarat
bjarki12
13 posters
AuthorMessage
bjarki12

bjarki12

Country/State : UK

Bjarki's Projects Empty
PostSubject: Bjarki's Projects   Bjarki's Projects EmptyWed Apr 06, 2016 10:58 pm

Hi all,

I don't get around to sculpting very often, and I'm not very good at working on one thing at a time or finishing things, so I thought I'd put pictures of all of the things I've started in the same topic.

I started this pair a few years ago not long after first posting my brown bear here and Philter recommended I try using Sculpey for future projects.  I thought the first model I should to try to make with this more practical material ought to be one of the animals I'd most like to see one of the major brands make: a sloth bear.  When I did a Google image search for sloth bears, I found an incredible picture of a mother bear defending her cubs from a tiger.  I thought that would be fun to try to sculpt.  I abandoned the project for a while to work on the longhorn cattle, and working on those made me think that maybe I ought to try to just work on sculptures of animals in more static poses until I'd had a bit more practice.  I found the positioning of the tiger and the bear bit of a challenge.  But here's what I've got so far:

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]" />

I'm a bit nervous about working on the tiger's face.  I feel like that's going to be quite a challenge for me.  But I'm looking forward to eventually finishing it and having an excuse to try Kosta's painting tutorial.  I've started working on them again, and hope to have pictures eventually.

And here's a cape buffalo I started working on a few months ago: