Forum dedicated to collectors of animal toy replicas

Toy Animal WikiToy Animal Wiki  HomeHome  Latest Topics  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Schleich and Bullyland Bernese Mountain dogs comparison topic

Go down 
+6
Roger
christinavanderschouw
SUSANNE
scot(t)
skysthelimit
HKHollinstone
10 posters
AuthorMessage
HKHollinstone

HKHollinstone

Country/State : England, CUMBRIA

Schleich and Bullyland Bernese Mountain dogs comparison topic Empty
PostSubject: Schleich and Bullyland Bernese Mountain dogs comparison topic   Schleich and Bullyland Bernese Mountain dogs comparison topic EmptyMon Jul 30, 2012 10:32 am

The models, Schleich and Bullyland Bernese Mountain dogs:
[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]
Now some real ones

As I mentioned in my thread [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.] I'm leaning towards the Bullyland one.  This is just my opinion below, I'm not a not expert this is just what I see:

First of all both figurines have a cuteness to them and inaccuracies which I will identify in a minute.  So neither are a completely realistic representation of the breed.
Schleich: the head is too big and the shape wrong, forehead is not vertical enough from side view.  Legs are too short.  Paintwork, which I think is the main reason for me liking the Bullyland one best, is dull.  The real dog has a beautiful rich tan colour and the white is bright not grey.
Bullyland: Overall sculpting ok, although his back left leg is maybe too long and his bum could have 1/2 a cm added to it.  Face is more accurate, the forehead is vertical although I think it could've been slightly more so.  Head is still too big but more in proportion to the body than the Schleich.  Tummy could maybe be more rounded.  Paintwork vibrant and accurate colours.
All in all, the Bullyland in my eyes is more realistic than the Schleich, but the Schleich is still a great model.